The Familiar Spirit at Endor?

1 Samuel 28:6-7


[6]And when Saul enquired of the LORD, πŸ‘‰ the LORD answered him not, neither by dreams, nor by Urim, nor by prophets. πŸ‘ˆ 

[7]Then said Saul unto his servants, Seek me a woman that hath a familiar spirit, that I may go to her, and enquire of her. And his servants said to him, Behold, there is a woman that hath a familiar spirit at Endor.

🌟 Notice Saul is no longer called a King in verse 7 

🌟 Saul had turned to idolatry and rejected the authority of the Levitical priests.

🌟 The Prophet Samuel was no longer alive, to pray for King Saul.

1 Samuel 28:3

[3]Now Samuel was dead, and all Israel had lamented him, and buried him in Ramah, even in his own city. And Saul had put away those that had familiar spirits, and the wizards, out of the land.

πŸ”₯ 1 Samuel 16:1

[1]And the LORD said unto Samuel, How long wilt thou mourn for Saul, seeing I have rejected him from reigning over Israel? fill thine horn with oil, and go, I will send thee to Jesse the Bethlehemite: for I have provided me a king among his sons.

🌟  Verse 3 tells us that Saul had put away wizards, and familiar spirits. Yet he himself goes back to seeking the same spirits as before, when the LORD does not answer him. 

Psalms 62:1

[1](To the chief Musician, to Jeduthun, A Psalm of David.) 

πŸ‘‰ Truly my soul waiteth upon God: from him cometh my salvation.πŸ‘ˆ 

Isaiah 40:31

[31]But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

Psalms 33:20

[20]Our soul waiteth for the LORD: he is our help and our shield.

Lamentations 3:25

[25]The LORD is good unto them that wait for him, to the soul that seeketh him.

Psalms 27:14

[14]Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.

Micah 7:7

[7]Therefore I will look unto the LORD; I will wait for the God of my salvation: my God will hear me.

Author: Mahi Ministries

Rabbi Mort at Mahi Ministries

Leave a Reply

